Northeast Overland

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Northeast Overland is Maine's leading self reliant adventure travel community in the Northeast Region of the U.S. Led by a Registered Maine Guide, you can be sure that you'll have an unforgettable adventure all while we TreadLightly!

5 posters

Gas can recommmendations

tmac
    tmac

Gas can recommmendations Empty Gas can recommmendations

Post by tmac Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:15 pm

As I get more and more into adventure travel I'm finding the need for a longer range.  I have no experience with gas cans for this purpose so I was wondering if I could get some advise.  It sounds like storing them in the vehicle is out of the question, or is it?  What types of cans do you recommend for carrying extra fuel?

Thanks,
    Taylor

Gas can recommmendations Empty Re: Gas can recommmendations

Post by Guest Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:27 pm

I like Rotopacks for their simplicity and small design. They are flat and contain around 4 gallons of fuel with many different ways of mounting them. Only real issue is the price, as in comparison to a standard fuel container, they are considered pricey. I think they have come a long way as well as they used to leak a little around the lid but I have yet to hear any of the newer versions doing so.

Your standard military Scepter can is also very useful and has a numerous amount of mounting options as well.
    AllanR
    AllanR

Post by AllanR Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:53 pm

MtnClimber
    MtnClimber
    Admin

Post by MtnClimber Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:04 am

The Rotopax or similar design sold by Cabela's are great for in vehicle storage. I have a Cabela's 4gal one that fits perfectly in the RR cargo area of my XJ.
    Sceptor cans are also known for non-leaking/smelling/seeping and would work great for inside cargo storage.

Last edited by MtnClimber on Thu Jun 12, 2014 7:07 am; edited 1 time in total
    booth9c1ss
    booth9c1ss